top of page

Wine Tasting At Childress Vineyard


I joined a black female travel group on Facebook. Not because of the segregation but because you rarely hear about black woman traveling. Sure you here all about cruising but I really didn't hear about black woman traveling international.

I was so happy to find this group, they gave great advice. The best ways to wear your hair (I never knew TSA searched black women's hair). How they were treated in different countries. The best places to stay. The best times to travel. just a wealth of information. They organize local meetups. I saw a local meetup for NC and SC....30 minutes from my house. How lucky was that. It was at a vineyard I didnt even know existed.

Three days before the meetup, I was admitted into the hospital and had to have a blood transfusion. I was discharged that Friday, the meetup was that Saturday. I honestly forgot all about it.

Saturday morning I woke up and my calendar alarm went off to let me know I had an event.

Meetup at Childress Vineyard at 12:00 PM.

So, I laid there and had an argument with myself, it went something like this... Go. No. Go. No, I just got out the hospital. Go. No, I need to rest. Rest for what, you feel fine now. No. Go,it will be fun. No, I can go another time by myself. Go, you need to socialize. It went on like that for a half hour. Luckily, healthy happy me won the argument. I am so happy I went. I had an amazing time. Childress Vineyard was directly off the highway in Lexington, NC, but once you pulled up to the winding driveway you won't even remember that. You drive past rows and rows of grapevines. I met some great ladies that travelled all over the world. You would never know that none of us every met before tht day, as we were chatting like old friends.

We took the tour, enjoyed the wine tasting and had a fantastic lunch. By the end of the day, I had made great new friends.

I hope you enjoy the pictures.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page