top of page

Climbing A Mayan Ruin| Xunantunich, Belize


(Picture of the Belize Flag)

I have always been fascinated with ancient archetecture for as long as I can remember. The Aztec ruins, Mayan ruins, especially the ancient eyptian pyrmids, medieval castles and so on. On one of the ports of my seven day cruise we stopped in Belize, Mexico. From all the excursions available Xunintich ruins seemed to stand out ot me the most. I was kind of leaning against it because we had a two hour drive just to reach the sight.

I woke up early, showered, got dressed and headed to leave the ship. At the end of the dock there were people holding signs for the various excursions and as I looked around I wanted to say... My trip is better than yours.

We boarded the bus nd our tour guide introduced herself, her co-worker and the driver. As we road through the city she pointed out various buildings and explained the history of Balize.

We arrive at the site and had to take a short ferry across the river, from there we rode up the hill and took a short hike ( I actually rode the van all the way up.)

The site was amazing!!

It started to rain just a bit and I thought they wouldn't let us climb up but after the tour guides brief history they encouraged us to climb and explore. I knew I was in trouble with the very first step. My balance is bad and I am dizzy all the time. Going up or down staris I usually use a rail. On top of the balance issue, I was also dizzy. So bad combo for climbing and ancient ruin.

At first, I was just going to enjoy the view. I was content just being there. Then the guide made an announcement... IF YOU AREN'T TRAVELING TO THE TOP.TRY TO MAKE IT MIDWAY AT LEAST. THERE ARE SOME GREAT PHOTOS OPPS THERE.

Challenge excepted!!

I was determined to make it midway. So what did I do... I started climbing up the stairs, on all fours.I was\a bit embarrassed. Especially with people way older than me seemed to be making it up just fine. :-( I finally make it up and the guide was right... stunning view and this is what greeted us....

So now I am up there and enjoying the view (still very much dizzy). I watch as others continue there climb. No rails, on steep, narrow steps, in the rain. Now I am ready to go back down. The guide assured us ( the ones who couldn't make it all the way up) that there was a rail on the other side to help you down. Yayyy! We walk carefully to the other side, because to the right it was this huge structure everyone was climbing and to the left... a cliff, that was sure to lead to sudden death. I walk carefully around to discover this....

Do you see any rails? Neither did I. I was just standing there looking at the descent... and that same old lady walks right past me like it was nothing...looking at me. I could of sworn she stuck her tongue out. The more I am staring down, the dizzier I became. Suddenly, there was a older gentlemen was standing next to me... he wasn't there before. Or maybe I was just to busy freaking out to notice. He offered for me to hold on to him as we walked down. Bless you. One of the tour guides took pity on me and she offered her arm as well. Now I have 3 people helping down this mountain. By the time I make it down, several people are clapping. I am in tears... part from fright, part from embarrassment. But I can say this.... I did that!!!

It was a major WOOHOO moment that I am very proud of. To check out more ruins and more pictures click here.

So here are my tips on how to survive the ruins.

2. Go in the Fall. Just my personal tip.I hate the heat and bugs. Bad combo 3. Pace yourself. There is a lot of walking.

Until Next time!!!

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page