top of page

Rome, Italy| Day 1

My first international trip. I was so excited. I did the reswarch, I started to learn key phrases and I read every forum and as many reviews I could possible reach. I felt I was very prepared. I flew into JFK from Raleigh. Thank goodness the termanial was right there and I didn't have to walk far. Once boarded we had to wait due to snow so we ended up taking off about an hour after scheduled. The flight was rough on me.I cculd not get comfortable and I couldn't sleep.

We arrived in Rome around 11:30 am. An hour off of schedule. I finally got my passport stamped!

I finally arrived at the hotel and checked in (I got lost), I was a little worried about the hotel, it had mixed reviews, however, the bad reviews were old. I set out to explore my surroundings, I wanted to see what was a round me. I was so overwhelmed by everything that I just got something to eat and headed back to my room to rest up. Italians have a different way of eating. FYI: Their meals are served in courses, (Yes, we have courses too) for instance, if you wanted chicken with your pasta (by the way... fetticini alfredo does not exist in Italy) then you would have to order your pasta first....then you get your chicken well after your pasta is finished. Another thing. Water and bread are not a freebie. You pay for both.

My first meal in Italy was the Spaghetti All'Amatriciana, basically spaghetti with bacon and tomato sauce. They cook their pasta al dente, a bit firmer, but oh sooo good. Very good. I was also expecting to be chunky with tomatoes but was pleasantly surprised.

I went back to my hotel and settled in, I wanted to be completely rested for the next day. Because Day 2, I wanted to be up and running.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page