top of page

NFL Football Game|Worst Night Ever


I learned a valuable lesson last week. All of my bucket list adventures may not be all glitter and gold. What hapens when something you dream about goes horrible wrong. Try again? Leave it as an experience.

So I went to the Panthers vs. Eagles game in Charlotte,NC. I am not a giant football fan but I do have a team and neither were my team. GO Cowboys! Probably mistake number 1. I decided since I was in the Panthers Stadium, I would route for them. The day started out great. I left early to beat traffic. Appartently everyone had that same idea. That didn't bother me because once again... I left left super early. I stopped to hang out at the Concord Mills Mall to do some window shopping and waste a some time since the game didn't start until 8:30 pm. I called my friend and visited her house before they headed out to Scarowinds (I should have went with them). It was only six o'clock and I still had plenty of time...or so I thought.

It was a zoo downtown, I mean a complete zoo. So many people, everything blocked off. People just walking in front of your car. Ticket sales, tailgaiting, police redirecting traffic. A mad house I tell you. Here is where everything went horrible wrong. First, I forgot to stop and get cash. All the parking lots required cash, so I was driving in circles for an hour looking for an Atm, trying to get out of the traffice and trying to remember where the good lots were located. Finally my brain woke up and said find a gas station,they have atms. I finally found once a little outside the downtown area. Now I had to fight my way back into downtown ( A zoo I tell you.) by this time it is more crowded, night has fallen and even more streets have been blocked off. I had to jump on the highway because the police were directing us a whole other way. I got off the first exit and parked in the first parking lot I saw. Whew finally, not as close as I hoped but there was no way I was going deep back into downtown...uptown... whatever they call it. I gather my tablet, my phone, my ticket and my credit card. I put my valubles in my trunk and make my way towards the stadium.

I get to Point A. where you are checked for weapons I assume. I don't feel they did a very good job because I was holding my blanket and jacket in my hands that they didn't wand all the way to my hands. Just an observation. Now here is where it went horribly wrong. Somewhere between Point A. and Point B (show your tickets to get in) I lost my ticket. I search my pockets, my tablet cover, my blanket, my jacket... gone. Utter panic begin to set in. I tried to backtrack... nothing. What if someone found it and used it? What if I can pull it up but they still won't let me in?

I am already feeling drained from that walk. There was no way I could make it back to my car right now.

I tried pulling the ticket on my phone but my phone was not cooperating. So then I used my phones wifi to pull it up on my tablet. Great it worked. Now to get inside, because the ticket says NOT MOBILE. PRINT ONLY. I get in the mobile line. She tells me I have to go in the middle. (Keep in mind, thousands of people are in line waiting to get inside. I got to the back of the line for the middle… which consist of 4 different ticket people. I get to the front and explain my situation… they tell me oh you want to go to the middle. I thought this was the middle.

Where exactly?

So now I am tired and frustrated, I am not going to the end of the line. I push my way across. Only for her to tell me to go to mobile.

“Nooo Ma’am. I was told to come to you specifically. I have already been to mobile and another line. They sent me to you." So she waves over a supervisor. I explain my situation once again. He swipes me in… simple.

Now, to find my seat. I didn’t realize how high up it was and I have a severe case of vertigo.

So let’s skip forward, Panthers are beating the Eagles. Touchdown Panther and the frat boys behind me jump up and beer goes flying everywhere. Luckily, I only got a small splash, poor lady beneath me got the majority of it.The half time show was okay. Since I wasn’t enjoying myself and I wanted to beat traffic, this was the perfect time to leave.

Now where did I park my car? I texted myself the street but my phone had long since died. I head in the direction I remember and here is where the night got much worse. The shortcut. I should have just kept walking in the direction I was sure. However, I was walking alone, at 11 pm, in Uptown Charlotte. I took a shortcut, thinking it would let me out on the street of the parking garage. No, did not work out like that at all. So now I am lost, tired, in pain and dizzy. I finally found a police officer and ask if he could help me...Yeah I might as well had been talking to my echo. No help what so ever. I went back to where I took the fatal shortcut, went the long way and finally found my car. I couldn't get out of Charlotte fast enough. I was so happy that journey was over. I will try again another time keeping these tips in mind. 1. Keep hold of your ticket 2. Bring cash 3. Remember where you parked

4. Arrive early On to the next adventure. Wherever the wind blows me!


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page