top of page

Flying Through The Jungle| Zipline


I had the great opportunity to take a seven day cruise to the western caribbean on Carnival Splendor. I had just began my bucketlist journey and this gave me the opportunity to check off a few things. One thing I had been wanting to do for a while now was go ziplining.

I was searching through the excursions and found it. The Extreme Zipline. It was on our Montego Bay,Isla Roatan port. I went back and forth with this one. So many things could go wrong, right? Let me back up and explain. I have an extreme case of vertigo. Since my hearing loss, my balance has gone south. So just walking up steps I need a hand rail. So this should be a horrible idea for me, right... wrong! I totally went for it.

It was just myself and one other girl that signed up for the 9:30 time slot. First up was to sign the waiver. No health problems...ummm No panic attacks...well No dizziness...hmmm. I checked them all, yeah I lied but I didn't come this far to turn back now.

Up next was the safety video. Did I mention I have hearing problems? I followed the video as best as I could paying close attention to their actions. Next thing I know they were putting me and the girl in the back of a pick up truck. Every scary movie started flashing in my mind.

We travelled into the jungle then stopped in the middle of no where. Yep... they are going to take my organs. We travelled a path throught the trees, fingers were crossed that I could keep up and they wouldn't notice I was out of breathe. Oh that was one of the waiver questions.

We walked up to a big tree that had stairs and a platform attached. This is it. We had two guides. While one guide was strapping the other girl up. The other guide clipped on to a wire and jumped out of the tree, flipped upside down and spread his arms wide. SHOW OFF!!.

Next thing I know the other girl was off. OMG! I was next. My heart was pounding out of my chest. The guide hooked me onto the zipline and showed me where to hold my hands. Now was the time. No time to think, and I was off. I was flying through the air, above the trees and the feeling was just... exhilariting.

We did five more ziplines. One after the other, each higher then the last. The highest zipline was 65 feet in the air. On one of the ziplines I began slowing down before I reached the end but the guide saw it as well and came out to get me before I stopped so I wasn't just dangling in the air. Each one got a little easier but still scary. I had the best time. I will definetly do it again. For more pictures click here. Would you try this?

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page