top of page

Hot Air Balloon Festival| Statesville, NC

I had the pleasure of attending the annual hot air balloon festival in Statesville, NC this year. It was over a period of three days. I chose to go on Saturday, October 17th. I left early in case I had problems finding the place... and of course I did. I have the strangest relationship with my GPS. She politely yells at me and takes me all around the mayberry bush to get to my destination. Somehow I ended up driving through a golf course. So I followed the balloons instead that I saw rising in the sky. It was such a beautiful sight. I have never seen a hot air balloon up close. I pulled in and got out of my car just as the last few balloons were launching and I was able to get some pretty great shots. I caught on just above my head!

It was a beautiful day. Long because I was unaware that once the balloons launched they would not be back until later that evening in time to launch again. Every line was way to long, not enough vendors for the amount of people that attended. One luxury I made sure to partake was a tethered ride in a hot air balloon. I could not believe how hot it was in the basket from the flames above. I kept a strong hand on the rim because I was dizzy ( I am always dizzy). But it was a magnificent feeling as we rose in the air.

I hope to attend next year but in another area. Tips that would make it great. Not because this one was bad, I just want to experience others. 1. Bring a blanket and a chair- I just brought a chair and I was at the event all day. So the chair got uncomfortable. I wanted to lay down under the sun and take a nap. LOL

2. Be prepared for the lines- I can not stand for a long period of time. I was in the line for the tethered ride for a very long time. I was just about to give up and walk away when a lady walked down the line asking for single riders. Thank you God, because I couldn't stand any longer.

3. If you are rolling solo as I did, take a book, magazine or something to entertain you if you are planning on being there as long as I did.

4. The tethered line was long and they ended early.

5. The balloons are not out all day... go figure.

Last but not least...

6. Be prepared for disappointment.- It was a time they were going to not put out the balloons because it was too windy. Never occurred to me. So enjoy the festivities they have out. Vendors, bands, food, etc. For more photos... click here Thanks for reading.

Join me next time... One Adenture At A Time.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page