top of page

How To Plan For An International Trip

I am going to ITALY!!! Finally. I have dreamed of this moment my whole life. I have wanted to go to many places but Italy is in my top 3. I got my passport this past summer and couldn't wait to book my first international trip. I searhed several searched travel websites but Expedia had given me the best deal 8 days flight and hotel for under $1500. I didn't jump on the first offer. I checked over a couple weeks to see if the price would drop any. I researched the hotel not only by Expedia reviews but several different site reviews. I am a planner by nature. I am a wedding planner so of course I had to at least map out the things I wanted to do. Here are the steps I am taking for my big trip. (NOt in any particular order)

1. RESEARCH, RESEARCH, RESEARCH. I research everything. Travel times to the monuments, travel time from the hotel. Which sites are near one another, foods. I read blog, watched Youtube videos, movies.joined forums.You name it I searched it.

2. BUY TRAVEL INSURANCE- When I booked my trip, I automatically purchased the trip cancellation insurance. My reason is because of my illness, Sarcoidosis, it can know me on my butt at any moment and I didn't want to loose any money on my trip. But I also searched other travel insurance options and made my own plan with American Express. And no, you don't have to be a card memeber.

3. Determine how you are going to get around. I love using public trsnaportion when I first travel somewhere, it gives me a better feel for my surroundings. I checked the prices for the Metro pass for the duration of my stay.

4. Watch the currency rates-Currency rates change so often and so fast. You can exchange before you leave for your trip or wait until you reach your destination. The recommendation is not to exchange at the airport (higher rates) check your bank. In my case I exchanged some money with my membership at AAA. I wanted to have money on hand once I landed.

5. Purchase an International adapter for your phone and any other devices you may bring.

6. Borrow a travel book from library or friend. Even with the internet. You can't deny the power of a book. I actually got a book they had at the library for cheap. Rick Steve's Travel Guide to Rome.

7. Purchase "good" locks for your luggage even with carry on.

8. Learn some key words and phrases of the country. Directions, Key questions such as greetings. Questions such as, "What time is it?", "Where am I?" or How much is this?"

9. Call your phone carrier to discuss international plans. No one likes a high phone bill. 10. Join travel forums such as TripAdvisor. This help me tremendously. You can see other reviews from people who have been ther did that. You can ask questions pertaining your travel plans. I learned of great restuarants. What the best times to visit tourist attractions and much much more.

International or Domestic, I hope this tips help you with your travel plans.

How do you get ready for a big trip?

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page