top of page

Now You're COOKING! | The Stocked Pot Cooking Class


I was searching Groupon to find great things to do...at a discount. I came across one for a cooking class. After checking their website and calender of classes, I came across a pasta making class. How cool is that? I LOVE pasta. I swear I was Italian in some previous life.

That morning it seemed like everything was getting in my way of making it to class. But I was deteremined. I am always putting myself last, but I was determined to make it. I am so glad I did.

Chef Don made the class so fun and easy to follow. I measured. blended, mixed, chopped to my hearts content. Silly me, I never really thougt about how pasta was made and was surprised at the simple ingredients.

Flour

Egss

Olive oil

etc.

The other great thing about the class was I was able to taste foods I normally would turn my nose to (did I mention, I am super picky with my food). Mushrooms... No! Tomotoes...gross!. Onions...no way! Now before you start thinking how weird I am, I enjoy the flavors of the foods.... I can do mushroom soup as long as there aren't any hunks of mushrooms floating around. Same goes for tomatoes. I love spaghetti sauce and I cook with tomoto paste but I can't do chunks. If onions are chopped very small then I am good. Why, I have no idea. I have been like this all my life. So back to the class, as we mixed the ingredients to make our sauce, I kept thinking... I am not going to eat this. Chef Don gave us an opportunity to taste the sauce. (I have to be brave) So I scooped up and spoonful of the sauce, tomatoes and all... and down the hatch. (Don't gag, chew). As you can see I am still here able to tell you of my story. I didn't die from nasty food. It was actually pretty good.

Into the food processor the chunky sauce went. Yay!! I mean the sauce was good before blending and all but I am a newbie. I don't see myself eating a lot of the chunky sauce.

We made fetticine, lasagna, tortillini, spaghetti, so much fun. So much food. I even tried the ravolie with mushrooms in it.

I would definetly take another cooking class. So now that I am an expert Italian cook. I think I need to visit Italy. But that, is another adventure.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page